A Steam Sale has ended. Have you felt it?

Did you found this Steam Winter Sale different? Empty? Boring? I sure did.

Starting from this last Steam Winter Sale, Valve decided to take down the flash sales and the mini games that we were used to see.

That turned out to be the reason to only visit and buy something from steam on the last day of the sale.

But, I admit, it was a more morally acceptable sale than the regular one, from the customer point of view. No crazy deals that make you check Steam every day of the sale and no need to play all your games to get some Steam cards to sell to get more cards, gems and such.

And there was also the DoS attack that resulted in “some users seeing Steam Store pages generated for other users”.

This last points are also the reasons why Steam sales grew as the crazy sales we used to talk about. The same ones that influenced those funny images, .gifs and references, usually portraying our wallets being attacked by the 40%, 50% or 75% discount tags, while Gabe Newell smiled.

But what have this crazy sales done to me so I could feel their absence?

Most of the time, they revealed games I hadn’t seen or heard about.

Of course my eyes were mostly looking for the big discounts on the overlapping Assassin’s Creed or Telltale games and the big games of the year. But sometimes there were some flash sales that made me search more about a game. Sometimes there were some discounts on a game I barely have heard of and it would end up in my cart with the others.

You might say the queues manage to do the same thing, but no, they don’t.

Most of the games that appear on my queues, that I like, end up on my wishlist, that, by the time I’m writing this, have 962 games. I barely look at those e-mails that say “a game in your wishlist is on sale” during a big Steam sale because of the size of my list.

Steam2015_1

The flash sales were as good as an effective product advertising: They made you want to buy the product as soon as you saw it. “That’s what I was missing!” would someone say, shouting at the screen.

Steam Sales used to make money and advertising very well, because all the PC players would focus their eyes on it, during the entire thing. They made it this last sale, too, but will it continue this way?

I guess Humble Bundle will manage to take that spot with their sales, if they continue using the “Make your own ____ Bundle”method.

Leave a Reply

